Cultural Challenges within Saudi Arabia

Whilst conducting business in Saudi Arabia no doubt I will encounter some serious cultural challenges. Three main challenges I have identified are:

  • The communication style
  • The religious culture
  • Gender considerations

The communication style is an obvious cultural barrier. Not only is there the issue of the language barrier with both parties speaking different languages, there is also the issue of accepting the differences when it comes to communicating. Generally communication in Saudi Arabia tends to be indirect and high context. Basically communication with Saudi Arabians relies more on body language and non-verbal cues such as the tone of voice as well as the use of silence. A direct ‘no’ is rarely used and contemplation is generally silence. When communicating with Saudi’s it is likely that they will converse with an individual whilst standing within personal space boundaries. Saudi’s don’t generally require as much personal space as Western cultures and because of this it may feel like personal space has been violated. As a woman, I probably won’t be talking to an individual one on one, but even if I were a man I would feel uncomfortable in this instance. Saudi’s will also spend a great deal of time getting to know an individual during a business meeting as they don’t like dealing with people that aren’t trusted. It is also important to note that Saudi’s do not like to rush into business agreements and I must not come across as impatient as this all interrelates with obtaining mutual trust between both parties. When greeting a Saudi here is a couple of meeting etiquette points to go by:

  • Men shake hands and for business meetings the right hand should be used
  • Women and men should not greet in public

The Saudi Arabian communication style is going to be very difficult to get used to, especially considering I am a woman and because of this I will not get to partake in a lot of the discussions, or be treated like a businessman (I will go into more detail about this further down the page). Even so, the thought of having to speak to a stranger that is within my personal space is going to be very alarming at first. Here’s hoping I get used to it!

cultdiff.jpg

The religious culture is going to be a one of the biggest cultural challenges for me personally. The closest I came to become religious was attending a church school holiday programme when I was 12, so I have never grown up with any kind of religious background. In saying this I do respect different religions and it will be a lot easier knowing I am prepared for the Islamic culture. Islam is a great ordeal in the Saudi Arabian society. It shapes rules and values concerning the way to behave around family, communities and business so it is key that I research this before I go. With religion there generally becomes prayers, which Saudi Arabians tend to do quite frequently. Saudi businessmen pray five times a day and exact prayer times can be found in the local paper. Western businessmen aren’t expected to engage during those prayer times however business activities will be interrupted as a result. How handy is it that I can plan in advance! There is also the cultural month of Ramadan, which noticeably slows down business. I will not be in Saudi Arabia during the month of Ramadan so business will be conducted efficiently (fingers crossed). However if I had planned to go during that time it would be expected that I do not eat in public or in the presence of those fasting. This is something I would struggle with. Thursday and Friday are the official days of rest. Friday is also classed as the Muslim holy day, so everything is closed on this day. I guess that means no late night shopping for the Saudi Arabian’s then.

globe-of-faiths.jpg

Gender consideration is centred around the concept that women are prioritised differently to men. Having a slight feminist bone in my body, I am going to find this cultural challenge (ironically) challenging and it is something I am going to have to mentally prepare myself for, prior to the trip. Western businesswomen are accepted in Saudi Arabia however with that being said, that is with a lot of reservation. Public interactions between men and women in Saudi Arabia is severely limited, even in business settings. There are also set expectations around what Western businesswomen should wear in public, which is an Abaya, a robe like dress that covers most of the body. Indoors clothing should be loose fitting that cover elbows, the collarbone and knees. It is frowned upon for a businesswoman to meet with Saudi businessmen and on the rare occasion this is only permitted if there is a male within the party. Being a businesswoman in Saudi Arabia is going to be a lot harder than expected. Not only is there the business etiquette to follow, but also I must have a male guardian with me at all times in public and I am not allowed to drive. I can’t help but feel helpless in this Islamic society!

gender.gif

Each of these cultural challenges could work as a drawback when it comes to conducting business over in Saudi Arabia. This is why it is important for appropriate research to take place before the trip commences to ensure I am well prepared for whatever cultural shock Saudi Arabia throws at me.

To read more into other interesting cultural differences, refer to these links.

http://www.commisceo-global.com/country-guides/saudi-arabia-guide

http://www.ibtimes.com/business-saudi-arabia-culture-differences-watch-406450

Challenges of Doing Business in Saudi Arabia

Leave a comment